Saturday, April 20, 2024
Subscribe Now - it's free!
HomeAwardsAcademy Unveils New Board of Governors; Lou Diamond Phillips, Dana Stevens, and...

Academy Unveils New Board of Governors; Lou Diamond Phillips, Dana Stevens, and Hannah Minghella Elected

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has unveiled its newly elected 2023–2024 Board of Governors, who will take office at the first scheduled board meeting of the new term.

11 current Governors termed off, including Whoopi Goldberg (Actors Branch) and Larry Karaszewski (Writers Branch), who will be able to run again in two years, while two longtime Board members Charles Bernstein (Music) and Jon Bloom (Animation) are permanently off the Board due to AMPAS’ more stringent guidelines for service.

What’s also noteworthy is that Wendy Aylsworth will serve as Governor of a new Production and Technology branch and that cinematographer Ellen Kuras will be returning to the Board following a hiatus.

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board:

Rob Bredow, Visual Effects Branch
Ava DuVernay, Directors Branch
Linda Flowers, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
Lynette Howell Taylor, Producers Branch
Stephen Rivkin, Film Editors Branch
Debra Zane, Casting Directors Branch
Elected to the Board for the first time:
Wendy Aylsworth, Production and Technology Branch
David I. Dinerstein, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
Richard Gibbs, Music Branch
Jinko Gotoh, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
Kalina Ivanov, Production Design Branch
Simon Kilmurry, Documentary Branch
Hannah Minghella, Executives Branch
Daniel Orlandi, Costume Designers Branch
Lou Diamond Phillips, Actors Branch
Dana Stevens, Writers Branch
Mark P. Stoeckinger, Sound Branch
Returning to the Board after a hiatus:
Ellen Kuras, Cinematographers Branch
They will join returning governors Pam Abdy, Bonnie Arnold, Lesley Barber, Dion Beebe, Howard Berger, Susanne Bier, Jason Blum, Gary C. Bourgeois, Brooke Breton, Paul Cameron, Ruth E. Carter, Eduardo Castro, Megan Colligan, Bill Corso, Paul Debevec, Peter Devlin, Tom Duffield, Charles Fox, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Donna Gigliotti, Chris Hegedus, Richard Hicks, Laura C. Kim, Marlee Matlin, Missy Parker, Jason Reitman, Nancy Richardson, Howard A. Rodman, Eric Roth, Terilyn A. Shropshire, Kim Taylor-Coleman, Jennifer Todd, Jean Tsien, Marlon West, Rita Wilson, and Janet Yang.
As a result of this election, the Board comprises 53 percent women and 25 percent belonging to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.
The Academy’s 18 branches are each represented by three governors, except for the recently established Production and Technology Branch, represented by a single governor.
Governors and the board-appointed governors-at-large may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional three-year terms for a lifetime maximum of 12 years. The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.
Click here for the current 2022-2023 Academy governors.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here