Sunday, June 23, 2024
Subscribe Now - it's free!
HomeAwardsJanet Yang Re-Elected President of Film Academy; Howard Berger and Howard Rodman...

Janet Yang Re-Elected President of Film Academy; Howard Berger and Howard Rodman Made Officers

Producer Janet Yang was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization’s Board of Governors on Tuesday.

Also elected to officer positions by the Board:

  • Bonnie Arnold, Vice President (chair, Membership Committee)
  • Howard Berger, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee)
  • Brooke Breton, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)
  • Tom Duffield, Vice President/Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)
  • DeVon Franklin, Vice President (chair, Equity and Inclusion Committee)
  • Lynette Howell Taylor, Vice President (chair, Awards Committee)
  • Howard A. Rodman, Vice President/Secretary (chair, Governance Committee)
  • Kim Taylor-Coleman, Vice President (chair, History and Preservation Committee)

“I am thrilled to welcome this year’s board officers. Under Janet’s esteemed leadership, these dedicated governors will guide the Academy’s ongoing efforts to elevate the work of our global membership and film community, highlight our industry’s rich history, foster meaningful dialogue, and continue to build equity and inclusion in every aspect of our organization,” Academy CEO Bill Kramer said in a statement.

Yang is beginning her second term as president and her fifth year as a Governor-at-Large, a position for which she was nominated by the sitting Academy President and elected by the Board of Governors in 2019 and 2022. Howell Taylor and Taylor-Coleman were re-elected as officers, while it will be the first officer stint for Berger, Breton, Duffield, and Rodman. Arnold previously served as an officer in 2019-20 and Franklin in 2021-22.

Yang’s extensive producing credits include The Joy Luck Club, The People vs. Larry Flynt, Zero Effect, High Crimes, Dark Matter, Shanghai Calling, and the Oscar-nominated animated feature Over the Moon, and she won an Emmy for the HBO film Indictment: The McMartin Trial. A member of the Academy’s Producers Branch since 2002, Yang previously served on the Board as vice president and chair of the Membership Committee and prior to that, the Membership and Governance Committee.

Academy board members may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional three-year terms for a lifetime maximum of 12 years. Officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission. Click here for a complete listing of the Academy’s 2023-2024 Board of Governors.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here